InfoSec Certifications

InfoSec Certifications

A Sampling of Information Security Certifications
Compiled by Joe Kanengiser, Q Corporation

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)
CISSP is a globally recognized security certification, having become a standard for all IT security professionals.

Requirements: A minimum of five years of professional experience in the information security field or four years plus a college degree

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)
CISA is the standard of achievement for those who audit, control, monitor and assess an organization’s information technology and business systems. 

Requirements: A minimum of five years of professional IS audit, control, assurance or security work experience is required for certification.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)
The CISM certification is focused for professionals who manage, design, oversee, and asses an organizations information security.

Requirements: A minimum of five years of work experience in the field of information security.

Cyber Security Forensic Certification (CSI)
CSI offers an in-depth qualification for digital and infosec forensic professionals.

Requirements: A minimum of 2 years’ experience in Forensic Analysis and a valid FBI background check. Please see for additional requirements.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)
The CEH Program certifies individuals in the specific network security discipline of Ethical Hacking from a vendor-neutral perspective. The Certified Ethical Hacker certification will fortify the application knowledge of security officers, auditors, security professionals, site administrators, and anyone who is concerned about the integrity of the network infrastructure. A Certified Ethical Hacker is a skilled professional who understands and knows how to look for the weaknesses and vulnerabilities in target systems and uses the same knowledge and tools as a malicious hacker.

Requirements: Complete a perquisite course or have a minimum of 2 years of information security related experience.

CompTIA Security+
CompTIA Security+ is an international, vendor-neutral certification that proves competency in system security, network infrastructure, access control and organizational security. 

The Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)
OSCP is a unique and industry leading IT Security Certification that tests real world skills in the penetration testing field. 

Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC)
GIAC offers various highly-valued certifications in information security, ranging from Security Administration to Auditing to Software Security.
See for more information regarding requirements and certification process.